CBSS Observer States

In 1999, the Council adopted its Principles and Guidelines for Third Party Participation which permits the designation of Observer status.

The 1999 Principles and Guidelines were further elaborated in decisions taken by the CSO in March and December of 2002. In line with these decisions, Observer States are encouraged to actively participate in the work of CBSS structures and working bodies as appropriate, on an ad-hoc basis and according to their expressed interests.

As of July 2009, the following states enjoy official status as Observer in the CBSS:

  • Belarus
  • France, 
  • Italy,
  • Netherlands,
  • Romania,
  • Slovakia,
  • Spain,
  • Ukraine,
  • United Kingdom
  • the United States of America.

Since 2002, Observer States are invited on an annual basis to a CSO meeting, (normally held in Stockholm, as several Observer States cover the CBSS from their Stockholm embassies), at which they are expected to inform the CSO about their activities, both planned and completed, in the CBSS framework in particular and in the Baltic Sea Region in general.

Some examples of past participation by Observer States include the following: support for projects initiated by the EGNRS; support for the EuroFaculty projects in the Baltic countries, and in the Kaliningrad and Pskov regions of the Russian Federation.